Tourism & Hospitality Management

Faculty Commerce & Management Studies
Dean Prof. R.Siva Ram Prasad
College University College of Arts, Commerce & Law- Departments
Established Year 2005
Head of the Department Dr. P. Purna Chandra Rao
Telephone No. 0863-2346393,394
Ph.D awards 05
MPhil awards 04
Courses Offered MBA (Travel & Tourism Management), M.Phil, Ph.D.
Sanctioned Intake 30 +30


As a part of offering market oriented and professional courses, Acharya Nagarjuna University has started the Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management under the Faculty of Commerce & Management studies, keeping in view the growing demand for the skilled people who can render their services in Tourism and Hospitality Sectors. The Department has started by offering a Master of Tourism and Travel Management Course from the academic year 2005-2006. The nomenclature is changed from MTTM to MBA (TTM) from 2013-2014 batch onwards in I-CET Counseling; it is a Two-year- Four Semester Regular English Medium Course, One of the Braches of MBA programme. MBA (TTM) Travel & Tourism Management, Admissions through I-CET Counseling. Mission & Objectives: In the 21st century, Tourism Industry is the third largest and fastest growing industry in the world next to Telecommunications and Information Technology providing best platform to all the qualified professionals in the Travel & Hospitality Sectors in career making. Tourism Mission Document of New State of Andhra Pradesh, 2015 has emphasized the potentiality of the sector and highlighting its prominence in the Economy of the State as well as the Nation. The students of this course have been provided with direct accessibility to the Tourism Industry under the guidance of good experienced faculty members, while directly participating in various events related to the Tourism Industry of National & International importance. Sound knowledge of Tourism course Curriculum is the real strength of each and every student when they part with the University after two years successful course completion to experience the True traveler life style in the society. It is a carefully designed programme, (with 28 core papers+2 Massive Open Online Courses MOOCs, Total: 30 papers), which has taken the academic strength of the premier institutions in the country. Syllabus for Tourism discipline helps out students around the Tourism world to expand their knowledge, develop their skills and realize their potentials while making their choicest career in Tourism, Travel & Hospitality sectors. The unique features of the course is Theme based project works, viva-voce, seminars, study tours and tour Reports, which give immense commitment, continued dedication to inspiring and developing Travel & Hospitality Professionals. Since its inception of the department, all the students were well settled in the reputed Tourism, Travel and its related sub sectors/ organizations.

Particulars of Teaching staff

Name of the teacher Designation Qualification
DR.P.PURNA CHANDRA RAO Associate Professor, HOD, BOS Chairman M.Com, M.A.(Hist), B.L, PGDTTM, M.Phil, Ph.D.
Dr. G. JYOTHI Guest Faculty MBA, M.H.R.M, M.A (Eco), PGDTTM, Ph.D.
N. GEETHA SONY Guest Faculty M.A (Lit)., MTM., (Ph.D.)
KAKUMANU RAJESH Guest Faculty M.B.A (T.T.M), M.A (Hist.), B.H.M., UGC-NET, (Ph.D.)
Research Activities    
research programs (M.Phil & Ph.D) have been introduced in the department since 2013-14 academic year on wards.
Academic Achievements    
1. Under the category of Best Tourism Educational Institution, An Award has been received from the Department of Tourism, Government of Andhra Pradesh by the then Chief Minister Sri.Konejeti Rosaiah on 27-SEP-2010. 2. Under the category of Best Collateral Publicity Material of Tourism, An Award has been received from the then Tourism Minister Sri Vatti Vasantha Kumar, AP Government on 27th-Sep-2013 for the compilation and publication of 3 Districts Tourism Chronicles such as Guntur, Krishna & Prakasham. 3. Under the category of Best Tourism Educational Institution, An Award has been received from the Dept. of Tourism, Government of Andhra Pradesh by the Honorable Chief Minister Sri Nara Chandrababu Naidu on 27-SEP-2014. 4. Under the category of Writing and Publication on tourism and its related aspects, An Award has been received from the Education Minister of AP i.e., Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Tourism Minister Bhuma Akhila Priya for the compilation and publication of a book titled Glimpses of South India Tourism on 27th Sep 2017. 5. Under the category of Excellence in Publication, An Award has been received from the Minister of Tourism, Culture & Youth Advancement, AP i.e., Sri Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao and Minister of Endowments of AP, Sri Vellam Palli Srinivasa Rao, for the book titled Amaravathi within Amaravathi Tourism Perspective, Andhra Pradesh on 28th Sep 2019.