Faculty Faculty of Physical Sciences
Dean Prof. A. Vasudeva Rao
College University College of Science
Established Year 1967
Head of the Department Prof. V. Ravi Kumar
Telephone No. 0863-2346173
Ph.D awards 200
MPhil awards 250
Courses Offered M.Sc.(Physics with Condensed Matter Physics as specialization), M.Phil., Ph.D
Sanctioned Intake 40


Department of Physics of Acharya Nagarjuna University, ever since its inception in the year 1967, is a pioneer in teaching and research. This Department has got the credit of founded and headed by internationally reputed Professors like Prof. D. Premswarup and Prof. C.R.K. Murthy. Since then the Department is being carefully cultivated academically by the subsequent eminent teaching staff members. At present the Department consists of eight teaching staff members The Department is offering M. Sc. two years programme in Physics (with Condensed Matter Physics/ Materials science as the specialization) with an in take of 40 students. In addition, M. Phil and Ph. D. courses are also being offered by the Department. The curriculum of M.Sc. course is designed by keeping in mind the syllabi of various National/International Universities to train up the students both in theoretical and experimental Physics. The M.Sc. curriculum consisting of latest topics in Condensed Mater Physics, Advanced Quantum Mechanics, Nano Materials, Glass Science, Liquid Crystals etc. The Department is well equipped with sophisticated instruments to cater the needs of both M.Sc. and research students. M.Sc. labs comprise of a separate computer lab, Electronics labs and Condensed Matter Physics labs with advanced experiment designed on par with central Universities and IITs to train the students with funds provided by several central government funding agencies under the programmes like UGC-SAP, DST-FIST etc. The PG students after their studies excel in teaching arena, industry and research. Most of them are being placed well in various sectors such as teaching, research and Government services. In fact, there are plenty of opportunities for the students after successful completion of the course. Every year, a considerable number of students are getting qualified in CSIR, GATE, NET and JEST program and settling in various National laboratories and reputed Central Universities and Labs as Research Fellows and Scientists. In addition, a good number of students are being selected for faculty positions in various Engineering Colleges. Some of the students are also being encouraged by admitting them as Research fellows in the Department itself.

Particulars of Teaching staff

Name of the teacher Designation Qualification
Prof. R.V.S.S.N. Ravikumar Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D., P.G.D.C.A.,
Prof. V. Ravi Kumar Professor M.Sc. (AU), B.Ed. (AU), M.Phil. (AU), Ph.D. (A.U).
Prof. M. Rami Reddy Professor PhD
Prof. Sandhya Cole Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., PhD
Prof. Ch. Linga Raju Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., PhD
Prof. G. Naga Raju Professor M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Prof. N. Veeraiah Professor (UGC BSR Faculty Fellow) M.Sc (O U)., Ph.D (IIT, KGP)
Prof. S. Sreehari Sastry Professor, UGC BSR Faculty Fellow M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.

Details of MOU

University /Institute/Industry MOU entered
Date of signing of MOU
Purpose of MOU
E-Tech Automation, Hyderabad.,
January, 2003,
Interaction with Industry,
Puspha Scientifics, Hyderabad.,
Interaction with Industry,
Research Activities    
Solid State Spectroscopy (ESR, IR, Raman Spectroscopy, Photoluminescence), Dielectrics, Non-linear Optical studies, Piezoelectric studies, Thermoluminescence of glasses and glass ceramic materials. Liquid Crystals, Ultrasonics, Nanomaterials are some of the thrust areas of research being pursued by the faculty of the Department.
Academic Achievements    
Our International Collaborative Researchers Most of the teachers are doing collaborative research with various National and Internationals Institutes. Some of the International collaborators include: University of Tartu, Estonia; Technical University of Czestochowa, Poland; Rudjer Boskovic


2016. All Rights Reserved to Acharya Nagarjuna University, Nagarjuna Nagar, Guntur - 522 510 ., Andhra Pradesh, India. Ph.No: 0863-22346114, Fax:0863-2293320